如何加强促销管理
下载完整版白皮书

如何加强促销管理?

优化商业支出并确保盈利

 

当进入超市时,经常会看到各种展示架或盒子以及巨幅的彩色海报,吸引消费者参与买一送一的促销活动,或参加某种其他产品的折扣活动。

据研究,促销支出占品牌收入的近 25%,而大约 60% 的促销活动未能实现收支平衡(1),只有 20% 可以带来销售收入的增加。基于上述调查,企业通过大规模促销带动销量的做法听起来有些令人匪夷所思。

即使一些国家的法律有意控制促销活动的数量,或者一些品牌采用“天天低价”的策略,促销活动对部分品牌来说似乎是无法避免的。事实上,促销活动旨在获取或保持市场份额,确保产品比竞争对手更早或更多地出现在货架上,从而吸引新的消费者,增加现有消费者的品牌黏性,并临时稳定或促进销售。

销售增长是企业的目标,但利润率和回报率才能确保其长期持续发展。当使用促销活动支持销售时,有效的促销管理流程可以降低成本,并在大多数情况下确保盈利能力。

(1) 资料来源:尼尔森

关键绩效指标 (KPIS)

home-block1

预测准确度

home-block3

浪费

home-block4

交付贡献

home-block2

年销售增长

home-block3

盈利能力

企业在进行促销管理时面临哪些挑战?

企业努力尝试有效定义促销活动:选择合适的促销产品、促销机制和财务机制,评估光环效应,并确保在收入、利润率和投资回报率(ROI)方面的收益-所有这些都同时进行。

因此,在制定促销计划和核算预算时,企业往往会复制当前的计划,调整日期和优惠,并应用增长和降低比率。此后,逐步微调促销活动,以满足零售商的要求。

新冠疫情的影响

黑天鹅事件是无法预知的。谁能预见到2019冠状病毒的蔓延及其对经济的全球影响?在其他产品销量大幅下降的情况下,如何预测到某些产品的销量会暴增?

无论平时的预测多么准确,自危机开始以来,很少有企业能够预测到疫情对其销售的影响。赢家是那些未雨绸缪的企业,因为他们成功的将弹性流程、捕获洞悉信息和快速响应技术结合起来。

下载完整版供应链最佳业务实践白皮书

了解加强促销管理的5大关键支柱

白皮书中还包括:

  • 加强促销管理与谁相关?
  • 为什么加强促销管理至关重要?有什么好处?
  • 如何管控商业支出并确保促销活动的盈利能力?加强促销管理的5大关键支柱
  • FuturMaster 如何助力企业优化促销管理流程?

查看全系列供应链最佳业务实践白皮书

联系我们

北京
中宇大厦 2306 工体北路甲6号
100027 北京 中国

电话 +86 (0)10 8523 5800

上海
3楼 The House
黄陂南路380号
黄浦区,上海
中国
电话 +33 (0)1 46 08 05 45

ENHANCE PROMOTION MANAGEMENT:
DOWNLOAD THE FULL WHITE PAPER!

Promotion management

HOW TO ENHANCE PROMOTION MANAGEMENT?

Optimise Trade Spend and Ensure Profitability

It is common when entering supermarkets to see the main aisle arranged with full displays or boxes and giant colourful posters inviting the consumer to buy one product and get one free or to benefit from a discount on another product.

Promotion spending represents nearly 25% of a brand’s revenue, whereas roughly 60% of promotions fail to break even (1), and only 20% would lead to an increased sales income. Knowing this, the massive embracing of selling under promotions sounds a bit surprising.

Even if laws in some countries aim at controlling promotions volume, or some brands turn to an Every Day Low Price strategy, promotions seem inescapable to some brands. Indeed, they mean taking or sustaining market share, being placed on the shelves before or in place of the competition, recruiting new consumers, making the existing ones more loyal, and boosting sales either casually or by making them stable at least.

Companies’ sales growth is the target, but profitability and return make them sustainable over time. When promotions support sales, efficient promotion management processes mitigate costs and, in most cases, ensure profitability.

(1) Source: Nielsen

KEY PERFORMANCE INDICATORS (KPI)

home-block1

FORECAST ACCURACY

home-block3

WASTAGE

home-block4

DELIVERED CONTRIBUTION

home-block2

ANNUAL SALES GROWTH

home-block3

PROFITABILITY

What challenges do companies face when dealing with promotion management?

Brands struggle to define promotions effectively: selecting the right products to promote, appropriate promotions mechanics, financial mechanisms, estimating the halo effect, and ensuring gains in terms of revenue, margin and return on investment (ROI) – all these simultaneously.

Therefore, when building a promotion plan and calculating a budget, they often duplicate the current plan, adjust dates and offers, apply growth and decrease rates. Promotions are later fine-tuned progressively to fit the retailers’ requirements.

Covid-19 impact on promotion management

Black swan events cannot be predicted. Who could have foreseen the spread of Covid-19 and its global impact on the economy? How can the frenetic consumption that was seen for some products be predicted while other sales dropped significantly?

Whatever their usual forecast accuracy, few companies have been able to anticipate the effects on their sales since the beginning of the crisis. The winners were better prepared. They successfully combined resilient processes, insights capture and responsive technology.

Download this full Best Practices white paper and discover

the 5 Key Pillars of enhancing a promotion management journey!

In this white paper, you will also learn:

  • Who’s concerned by enhancing promotion management?
  • Why is it crucial to enhance promotion management? What are the Benefits?
  • How to monitor trade spending and ensure promotion profitability? The journey towards enhanced promotion management – The 5 Key Pillars
  • How FuturMaster can help you to optimise your promotion management process?
Promotion management

DISCOVER THE WHOLE SUPPLY CHAIN BEST PRACTICES SERIES

Optimise stock levels
Integrated Business Planning
New Product Introductions

Contact us

FuturMaster - UK
Apex House
Calthorpe Rd
UNITED KINGDOM
Tel +44 (0)1212 317200
Tel +33 (0)1 46 08 05 45