博客

2017/10/25

如何留住供应计划人才?

作者:巩朴,FuturMaster 咨询顾问

供应计划员是一个古老的职业,可以追溯到人类组织生产的起源时期。如今,他们作为沟通各部门的桥梁,在企业运营中依然举足轻重。

stress-work

供应计划员十分重要,培养熟悉产品、生产和流程的人才更是难上加难。此外,每位计划员的离职都会带来“智囊流失”,影响企业的整体运营和绩效。因此,企业必须尽其所能地留住这方面的人才。那么,问题的关键是:

企业如何才能留住供应计划人才?

“加薪”仿佛是一个直接有效的办法。然而,实际情况没有这么简单。我们不妨转换视角:如果计划员对工作不够满意,我们应当如何改善状况?首先,让我们看一看生产计划员日常工作中的挑战。

生产计划员的职责是制定、维护生产计划,他们需要权衡成本、效率和订单满足率,同时考虑产能、设备和仓储容量等限制条件。这需要极强的技能和耐力。生产计划牵一发而动全身,每处细微的改动都可能带来上下游运营的重大改变。生产计划员除了要完成高强度的数据工作,还必须同其他部门紧密协作,迅速响应情况变化。这意味着,他们的邮箱往往堆满了不同版本的数据表格,日程往往排满了会议和截止日期。可见,生产计划员需要承受很大的工作压力。

通常而言,计划工作所用的软件都非常基础。计划员往往需要处理庞大而复杂的Excel 表格,进行许多重复性的操作。新入职的计划员常常不能理解这些复杂的逻辑,因而陷入低效的例程工作。他们盲目地执行上级指示,这会抹杀计划工作的附加价值,也会影响计划员本身的成就感。另一方面,有经验的计划员也会受限于这些繁琐而乏味的任务,不能够从事更有价值的工作,例如从数据分析中洞察业务、对异常情况追查原因等。总之,初级和高级计划员都很难真正发挥才干,他们自然会感到失落,转而寻求价值感更高的职位机会。

如何激励并支持计划员创造更多价值?

以下是三项简单有效的措施:

– 提供员工培训:
优质的培训不仅可以让员工跳出既定的例程,还能有效地提升知识与技能,并且带来工作态度的转变。在培训中,计划员可以了解产品、流程和计划,并且学习“思考、分析、解决”的思维方式。研究表明,深入的培训可以提升个人效能,培养更加成功的员工。

– 简化计划流程:
冗长的计划流程难免让计划员倍感挫败。产品旺季中,企业需要更高的灵活性和反应能力,使得这一问题愈发显著。简化决策机制,制定标准化的流程,将大幅提升计划质量,并减轻计划员的负担。

– 采用专业计划系统:
处理重复性的数据管理工作,最好采用一款专业设计的软件。软件可以避免人为错误,把员工从繁琐的任务中释放出来,让他们专注于更重要的工作。作为数据枢纽和协作平台,解决方案可以进一步提高决策效率。强大的计算能力可以解决极其复杂的生产计划问题。另一方面,解决方案还可以整合不同团队中的知识,形成稳定的工作流程,从而支持组织内部的系统性知识转移。这样,机器会自动处理繁重的工作,计划员则可以完成更重要的挑战,为企业做出最大的贡献,同时提升自身的工作满意度。

推动计划方式的变革,企业领导者需要竭心尽智。而方案成功实施之后,将给计划工作带来质的飞跃。

社交媒体

博客

博客

实现IBP(集成业务计划)需要什么?

作者:Richard House,FuturMaster 英国分公司总经理 目前,在已经实现了 IBP(集成业 […]

博客

预测的基本原理:聚合预测

作者:Gary Shaw, 供应链高级顾问 ​需求预测既是一门艺术,也是一门科学。需求预测的“艺术”在于,需求 […]

博客

六步打造卓越供应链

​尽管专家们众说纷纭,然而打造卓越供应链并没有特定的秘诀,它绝非依靠某一种灵丹妙药,而是各方面因素的巧妙结合。 […]

联系我们

北京
中宇大厦 2306 工体北路甲6号
100027 北京 中国

电话 +86 (0)10 8523 5800

上海
3楼 The House
黄陂南路380号
黄浦区,上海
中国
电话 +33 (0)1 46 08 05 45

Blog

2017/04/26

How to retain company’s supply planning talents?

By Pu Gong, Consultant

Supply Planner is an ancient profession dating back to the origin of organised production. Acting as a bridge for interdepartmental communications, the Supply Planner is to this day an indispensable part of a company’s operations.

stress-work

Developing a Supply Planner who understands a company’s products, production and processes is costly and due to the vital role a planner plays, most businesses will try to retain that talent. Moreover, every departure can result in a ‘brain drain’ and cripple the company’s overall operations and performance. This leads us to the following question:

How can companies retain their Supply Planning talent?

The obvious answer would be to offer them more money. However, the reality is more complex than that. Let’s try and look at things from a different angle. If planners are not satisfied with their job then how can we fix it? Let’s examine the day-to-day challenges faced by a Production Planner.

A Production Planner’s role is to generate and maintain a production plan, juggling trade-offs between service level, costs and efficiency, while accommodating constraints of stock availability, production capacity and machine capabilities. This balancing act requires great skills and some serious stamina. If this intense number crunching isn’t enough, any slight change in the plan can trigger major changes in both upstream and downstream operations, so the job requires close collaboration with other departments and any changes need to be dealt with quickly. This means an inbox overflowing with spreadsheets going back-and-forth and a calendar packed full of meetings and deadlines. It should come as no surprise that a Production Planner’s life can be very stressful!

In most cases, planners are supported by very basic software. They work on huge and complex excel spreadsheets, often performing repetitive tasks on daily basis. New planners, overwhelmed by such complexity are often trapped in inefficient routines. They blindly execute their superior’s orders, undermining the plan’s value and their own sense of accomplishment. Senior planners are too often restrained by tedious and repetitive tasks, holding them back from value adding activities such as extracting critical business insights from data analysis and investigating the root cause of anomalies. As a result, both junior and senior planners do not fully utilise their talent and feel either unfulfilled or uninspired. Should we be surprised when they seek other opportunities where they can create value?

How do we encourage and allow our planners to deliver more value?

Behold, I present three simple but effective ways to change things around:

– Provide employee training:
Aside from breaking the routine, good quality employee training is an essential tool for the effective development of skills, knowledge and attitudes. It equips your planners with product, process and planning knowledge as well as encouraging them to adopt ‘think, analyse, resolve’ mind set. Studies have shown that the most successful and productive employees are those who have received extensive training.

– Streamline the planning process:
A drawn-out planning process can be a major source of frustration for a planner. An issue further aggravated during the peak season, when flexibility and responsiveness become increasingly critical for the business. Streamlining decision-making into a standardised and simplified process improves planning quality and eliminates extra hassle for planners.

– Leverage a specialised planning system:
I want to avoid sounding like a salesman, but a well-designed piece of software really is the best cure for repetitive data management. It takes over the tedious tasks, eliminating human errors and clearing your employee’s time for more important work. The solution acts as a data hub and collaborative platform, enabling more efficient decision-making. It can solve sophisticated planning problems that our human brains just don’t have enough time to untangle and centralises knowledge scattered across the teams into stable workflows, thus supporting systematic knowledge transfer within an organisation. Our planner becomes the driving force while all the heavy work will be left to the machinery. This enables the planner to focus on the more interesting challenges presented by their role, offering maximum value for their company and maximum job satisfaction for them.

Investing in such changes takes courage and vigour from company’s leadership. Yet, once successfully implemented, it is well worth it!

Follow us on social media

Blog

stress-work
Blog

How to retain company’s supply planning talents?

By Pu Gong, Consultant Supply Planner is an ancient profession dating back to the origin of organised production. Acting as a bridge for interdepartmental communications, the Supply Planner is to this day an indispensable part of a company’s operations. Developing a Supply Planner who understands a company’s products, production and processes is costly and due […]

women-in-sc
Blog

Women in Supply Chain

Every year we celebrate International Women’s Day on the 8th of March. With many countries making it an official holiday, the meaning of the day has somewhat shifted from celebrating the social awareness of the struggles of women to praising all females for just being a woman.

Supply-Chain-2016
Blog

Key Events in Supply Chain 2016

What are the major supply chain developments this year?
New technologies keep changing consumer’s demand and requirements at the time of purchase. Today, the amount of available real-time data is greater than ever. As a result, supply chain is directly impacted and must continually adapt to the ongoing changes.

Contact us

FuturMaster - UK
3, Brindley Place
B1 2HL – Birmingham
UNITED KINGDOM
Tel +44 (0)1212 317200
Tel +44 (0)1212 317200